Dear Jan,



Congratulations to all participants of the 2017 NIETOC tournament!

A rip-roaring pep rally opened the tournament

and a performance by the Liberty North Theatre Department highlighted our 2017 awards ceremony.
A huge thank you coach Kim Lenger and Dr. Martin K. Jacobs, Principal. We would also like to thank Liberty North High School, the Liberty North forensics team, parents and everyone involved for their hospitality and efficiency. Bravo on a successful tournament!
Thank you to all the coaches and judges who do such amazing and important work affecting the lives of these students.
Congratulations to all underclassmen in main event semifinals or finals! You are automatically qualified for next year! Those who advanced to octa- or quarter-finals already have one bid. Good luck next year!
Come tell your story at the 2018 NIETOC!
Come tell your story!
We look forward to the 2018 NIETOC returning to  Denver East High School, Denver CO,  May 11-13, 2018!

Registration link to become a 2018 Bid School

The NIETOC Executive Board

Congratulations to Tournament Champions!

(pictured above from left to right)
PROSE–Jaime Gomez from Harlingen High School South in TX, coached by LeeAnn Ince
DUET–Noah Graham and Courtney Carr from Liberty North in MO, coached by Kim Lenger
EXPOS–Elsie Goren from Eagan in MN, coached by Rita Anderson & Ben Anderson.
POETRY–Mycah Butler from Midwest Speech & Debate in MI coached by Tom Roccotagliata
HUMOR–Katie Coonce from Blue Springs South in MO, coached by Katie Rucinski
DRAMA–Abigail Stewart of Ardmore High School in OK, coached by Brian Gunter
ORATORY–Arasha Lalani from Ronald Reagan High School in TXcoached by Brian Eanes
DUO–Derek Collins and Kerrington Anderson from Hattiesburg High School in MS, coached by Scott Waldrop & Reggie Chapman
2017 Sweepstakes Awards

Act 1 Nominees: BASIS Independent, CA;North Kansas City High, MO; Tusky Valley HS, OH; Winston Churchill High School, TX
Act 1 Winner: Tuloso-Midway HS of TX, coached by Tasha Kneis 
ACT 2 Nominees: Andy Dekaney, TX; Golden State Academy, CA; Sacred Heart High, MS

ACT 2 Winner: Harlingen High School South of TX, 

coached by LeeAnn Ince

ACT 3 Nominees: Apple Valley, MN; East Ridge, MN;

Grand Prairie Fine Arts Academy, TX; Saint Mary’s Hall, TX
ACT 3 Winner: Ronald Reagan HS of TX, coached by Brian Eanes
Josephine Dukes Teacher of the Year Award

Recipient: Anita Boyd of Laurel Christian High School in
Laurel Mississippi
Don’t forget to nominate a teacher who has made a difference in your life! You can access the nomination form on the NIETOC website.
An emotional moment noting the retirement of legendary Tommie Lindsey, coach of James Logan High in CA.
2017 Perfect Performance Award and Scholarship Winner


Derek Collins from Hattiesburg High School in MS,
coached by Scott Waldrop with Demond Wilson,
President and Founder NIETOC
Derek Collins was the winner of the 2017 Perfect Performance Award and Scholarship as the top individual performer at this year’s tournament. See the Perfect Performance website for more information about Perfect Performance workshops and camps.

Thank you to Ben Stewart of SpeechWire
who also helped make “the experience” of the
NIETOC tournament a terrific one.
travels to Denver East High School
We look forward to seeing you
in Colorado!