NIETOC 2018, another successful tournament!

2018 NIETOC Champions

Congratulations to all participants in the 2018 NIETOC tournament! 
Bravo to all the coaches and judges who do such amazing and important work affecting the lives of these students.
Thank you to Matt Murphy, Noah Kaplan, Laura Hosman, Brent Dysart and all the members of the Denver East Host Committee for putting together a wonderful weekend for us. We also appreciate the leadership of Principal John Youngquist, who conveyed the importance of competitive speech and debate at the opening ceremony.
The Executive Committee would also like to acknowledge our Saturday workshop presenters – Demond Wilson and Michael Marks – for their inspirational words of wisdom.
Congratulations to all underclassmen in main event semifinals or finals! You are automatically qualified for 2019! Those who advanced to octa- or quarter-finals already have one bid. Good luck next year!

Congratulations to our individual champions

pictured above left to right):

Original Oratory
– Noemi Rivera, Royse City, TX, coached by Matthew Stewart

Perfect Performance Award – Drake Leach, Saint Mary’s Hall, TX, coached by Joe Muller
Poetry – Logan Klutse, Lakewood, CO, coached by Korinna Ghiloni

Prose – Kelsey Pierce, Tuloso-Midway, TX, coached by Tasha Kneis
Duo Interp – Liza Rotty & Zach Frye, Apple Valley, MN, coached by Dan Hodges
Humorous Interp – Conor Sherry, Archbishop Mitty, CA, coached by Karen & BJ Cruz
Duet Acting – Jake Ledger & Olivia Monroy, Archbishop Mitty, CA, coached by Karen & BJ Cruz
Expository – Amanda Dickerson, Millard West, NE, coached by Jennifer Jerome
Dramatic Interp – Taylor Turner, James Logan, CA, coached by Justin Kurup, Ben Unanaowo & Jesse Garrett

Congratulations to our champion coaches
(pictured below left to right):
Matthew Stewart, Korinna Ghiloni, Tasha Kneis, Dan Hodges, Karen Cruz, BJ Cruz, Jennifer Jerome, Ben Unanaowa, Justin Kurup

Team Awards

Act 1 Nominees:
– Andy Dekaney, TX
– Nebraska City, NE
– Sacred Heart, MS

Act 1 Winner – Royse City, TX, coached

by Matthew Stewart

Act 2 Nominees:
– Harlingen High South, TX

Golden State Academy, CA

The Harker School, CA
Act 2 Winner – Apple Valley, MN, coached by Luke Ostrander

Act 3 Nominees:
– Archbishop Mitty, CA  

East Ridge, MN

Lakeville North, MN
Act 3 Winner – Saint Mary’s Hall, coached by Joe Muller

Josephine Dukes Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to
Michael Marks
of Mississippi who was named the 2018 Josephine Dukes Teacher of the Year. Former Disney National Arts Teacher of the Year, Mr. Marks is a Past State President of the Mississippi Association of Educators and a member of the National Education Association Executive Committee. He has served as President of the Southeastern Theatre Conference where he founded the diversity initiatives of the organization.
After coaching countless state and national champions in multiple activities while championing human and civil rights efforts across the country, Mr. Marks presented a workshop about the importance of diversity in forensics and shared these words of wisdom during his acceptance speech:  As the political analyst George Wills said, “if it weren’t for teachers – we’d be even dumber than we really are.”

NIETOC Board Welcomes New Member

Rachel Warnecke of San Antonio, Texas will be joining the executive committee as our new treasurer. Warnecke will be covering the fiscal responsibilities of outgoing committee member Toni Heimes of Lincoln, Nebraska

Become a Bid School

The application to become a 2018-19 Bid Tournament is
available here

and is due by 
June 10
A reminder that the $50 charge for this is waived if the host school was a bid school last year AND attended the 2018 tournament.
Take a few minutes to do this if you host a tournament, and if there is a lack of bid tournaments in your area or region, please encourage the directors of tournaments you attend to apply for a bid as well. 

NIETOC 2019 Returns to Nebraska!

The Executive Committee is proud to announce that
Millard North HS in Omaha, NE
will serve as our host on May 10-12, 2019. Under the direction of Sabrina Denney Bull, Millard North is the largest competitive speech program in Nebraska, is the two-time defending Class A state champion and was a 2016 NSDA School of Outstanding Distinction. NIETOC is excited to return Nebraska for its tenth anniversary tournament!